Is Squid (Calamari) Halal OR Haram In Islam?

In Islam, the permissibility of squid (also called calamari) is a matter of scholarly opinion with two main viewpoints:

Halal (Permissible):

  • Majority View: The majority of Islamic scholars consider squid to be halal for consumption. This view is based on the Quranic verse (5:96) which allows the consumption of “what the sea throws forth for food” (generally interpreted to include all types of seafood) as long as it’s not harmful.
  • Absence of Specific Prohibition: There’s no explicit mention of squid being forbidden in Islamic texts (hadiths) and it falls under the category of seafood.

Haram (Forbidden):

  • Hanafi School of Thought: The Hanafi school of Islamic jurisprudence, one of the four major Sunni schools, considers all creatures of the sea besides fish to be haram. This would include squid, octopus, shrimp, and other shellfish. Their reasoning might involve a stricter interpretation of the Quranic verse or following specific hadiths interpreted to exclude such creatures.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top